About Us

The Interboro Mutual Aid Group was formed in 1954 so that towns in the northeastern portion of Bergen County, New Jersey could provide assistance to each other during times of need. 

Currently the fire departments that make up the Interboro Mutual Aid Group provide fire protection assistance to each other and throughout Bergen County in New Jersey through the county and state mutual aid systems.

The member towns of the group are Alpine, Bergenfield, Closter, Cresskill, Demarest, Dumont, Harrington Park, Haworth, Northvale, Norwood, Old Tappan, Rockleigh, and Tenafly.  The New Milford FD is an associate member of the group. 

The mutual aid group meets each month, usually on the first Sunday of the month except for July and August.

Aside from providing mutual aid to each other, the mutual aid group also owns, operates and maintains an SCBA air filtration and filling program with stationary facilities in Bergenfield, Closter and Tenafly.  Additionally, the group provides SCBA fit testing for all member towns each year to maintain compliance with respiratory regulations.